※NCAA、日本→https://jcbrown2483.wixsite.com/mysite/pass-interference
RULE 8. FORWARD PASS, BACKWARD PASS, FUMBLE
SECTION 4 LEGAL AND ILLEGAL CONTACT WITH ELIGIBLE RECEIVERS
ARTICLE 1. LEGAL CONTACT WITHIN FIVE YARDS.
Within the area five yards beyond the line of scrimmage, a defensive player may chuck an eligible receiver in front of him. The defender is allowed to maintain continuous and unbroken contact within the five-yard zone, so long as the receiver has not moved beyond a point that is even with the defender.
LOSから 5yd先のエリア内では、ディフェンスは目の前の有資格レシーバーを突いてもよい。レシーバーがディフェンスと並ぶ地点を超えない限り、ディフェンスは、5ydゾーン内で継続的且つ途切れることのなく接触をしてもよい。
ARTICLE 2. ILLEGAL CONTACT WITHIN FIVE YARDS.
Within the five-yard zone, if the player who receives the snap remains in the pocket area with the ball, a defender may not make initial contact in the back of a receiver, nor may he maintain contact after the receiver has moved beyond a point that is even with the defender. If a defender contacts a receiver within the five-yard zone, loses contact, and then contacts him again within the five-yard zone, it is a foul for illegal contact.
スナップを受けたプレーヤーがボールと共にポケットに残っている場合、5ydゾーン内で、ディフェンスはレシーバーの「背後に」最初の接触を行なってはいけない。又、レシーバーがディフェンダーと同じ地点を越えた後も接触を維持してはいけない。ディフェンスが 5ydゾーン内でレシーバーと接触した後、接触を失い、その後5ydエリア内で再びレシーバーと接触した場合、イリーガルコンタクトの反則である。
ARTICLE 3. ILLEGAL CONTACT BEYOND FIVE-YARD ZONE.
Beyond the five-yard zone, if the player who receives the snap remains in the pocket area with the ball, a defender cannot initiate contact with a receiver who is attempting to evade him. A defender may use his hands or arms only to defend or protect himself against impending contact caused by a receiver. If a defender contacts a receiver within the five-yard zone and maintains contact with him, he must release the receiver as they exit the five-yard zone.
スナップを受けたプレーヤーがボールと共にポケットに残っている場合、5ydゾーンの向こうでディフェンスは、彼を回避しようとしているレシーバーと接触を開始してはいけない。ディフェンスは、レシーバーによる差し迫った接触から身を守る為にのみ手、腕を使用してもよい。ディフェンスが 5ydゾーン内でレシーバーに接触し、その接触を維持した場合、5ydゾーンを出るときにレシーバーと離れなければならない。
ARTICLE 4. INCIDENTAL CONTACT BEYOND FIVE-YARD ZONE.
Beyond the five-yard zone, incidental contact may exist between receiver and defender.
Penalty: For illegal contact by the defense: Loss of five yards and automatic first down.
SECTION 5 - PASS INTERFERENCE
ARTICLE 1. DEFINITION
It is pass interference by either team when any act by a player more than one yard beyond the line of scrimmage significantly hinders an eligible player’s opportunity to catch the ball. Pass interference can only occur when a forward pass is thrown from behind the line of scrimmage, regardless of whether the pass is legal or illegal, or whether it crosses the line.
LOSを 1yd以上超えた地点のプレーヤーが、有資格レシーバーがボールをキャッチする機会を著しく妨げた場合、いずれかのチームによるパスインターフェアとなる。パスインターフェアは、パスが正当か不正か、又はパスがLOSを越えているか否かに関係なく、LOSの後方からフォワードパスが投げられた場合にのみ発生する。
When the ball is in the air, eligible offensive and defensive receivers have the same right to the path of the ball and are subject to the same restrictions.
ボールが空中にあるとき、双方の有資格レシーバーはボールの軌道に対して対等の権利を持ち、同じ制限に従う。
Acts that do not occur more than one yard beyond the line of scrimmage are not pass interference, but could be offensive or defensive holding (see 12-1-3 and 12-1-6).
LOSを 1yd以上超えない地点で行われた行為はパスインターフェアではないが、オフェンス又はディフェンスのホールディングとなる可能性はある。
Defensive pass interference rules apply from the time the ball is thrown until the ball is touched. See Article 2 for prohibited acts while the ball is in the air.
ディフェンスパスインターフェアのルールは、ボールが投げられてからタッチされるまで適用される。ボールが空中にある間の禁止行為については、 Article 2を参照。
Offensive pass interference rules apply from the time the ball is snapped until the ball is touched. See Article 2 for prohibited acts while the ball is in the air and Article 4 for prohibited acts prior to the pass.
オフェンスパスインターフェアのルールは、スナップされてからボールがタッチされるまで適用される。ボールが空中にある間の禁止行為についてはArticle 2 を、パス前の禁止行為についてはArticle 4を参照。
ARTICLE 2. PROHIBITED ACTS BY BOTH TEAMS WHILE THE BALL IS IN THE AIR
Acts that are pass interference include, but are not limited to:
パスインターフェアとなる行為には以下が含まれるが、これらに限らない。
(a) Contact by a player who is not playing the ball that restricts the opponent’s opportunity to make the catch;
ボールをプレーしていない選手による接触で、相手のキャッチの機会が制限された場合;
(b) Playing through the back of an opponent in an attempt to make a play on the ball;
ボールにプレーしようとして相手の背後をすり抜けてプレーする;
(c) Grabbing an opponent’s arm(s) in such a manner that restricts his opportunity to catch a pass;
パスをキャッチする機会を制限するような方法で相手の腕を掴む;
(d) Extending an arm across the body of an opponent, thus restricting his ability to catch a pass, and regardless of whether the player committing such act is playing the ball;
ボールをプレーしているか否かに関係なく、相手の体に向かって腕を伸ばし、パスをキャッチする能力を制限しようとしている場合;
(e) Cutting off the path of an opponent by making contact with him, without playing the ball;
ボールをプレーせずに、相手と接触して進路を遮断すること;
(f) Hooking an opponent in an attempt to get to the ball in such a manner that it causes the opponent’s body to turn prior to the ball arriving; or
ボールに到達する前に相手の体を回転させるような方法でボールに到達しようとして相手を引っ掛けた場合;又は
(g) Initiating contact with an opponent by shoving or pushing off, thus creating separation.
相手を突き飛ばしたり押しのけたりして接触を開始し、分離を引き起こした場合.
ARTICLE 3. PERMISSIBLE ACTS BY BOTH TEAMS WHILE THE BALL IS IN THE AIR
Acts that are permissible by a player include, but are not limited to:
選手に認められる行為には以下が含まれるが、これらに限らない:
(a) Incidental contact by an opponent’s hands, arms, or body when both players are competing for the ball, or neither player is looking for the ball. If there is any question whether contact is incidental, the ruling shall be no interference;
双方がボールを奪い合っている、又は双方がボールを探していない時に、相手の手、腕、体が偶発的に接触すること。接触が偶発的か否か疑わしい場合、判定は介入するべきでない。
(b) Inadvertent tangling of feet when both players are playing the ball or neither player is playing the ball;
双方がボールをプレーしている時、又は双方ともボールをプレーしていない時に、不注意で足がもつれること。
(c) Contact that would normally be considered pass interference, but the pass is clearly uncatchable by the involved players, except as specified in 8-3-2 and 8-5-4 pertaining to blocking downfield by the offense;
通常であればパスインターフェアと見做される接触であるが、接触に関与した選手には明らかにキャッチ不可能な場合で、オフェンスによるダウンフィールドのブロックに関する8-3-2及び8-5-4に規定されている場合を除く。
(d) Laying a hand on an opponent that does not restrict him in an attempt to make a play on the ball;
ボールでプレーしようとして、相手を制限しない範疇で相手に手を置くこと。
(e) Contact by a player who has gained position on an opponent in an attempt to catch the ball; or
ボールをキャッチしようとして相手選手の位置を達した選手による接触。
(f) When a team presents a punt formation (3-17-7) and before the ball is kicked, acts that normally constitute pass interference against the end man on the line of scrimmage or against an eligible receiver behind the line of scrimmage, who is aligned or in motion more than one yard outside the end man on the line. Defensive holding and offensive pass interference rules still apply.
チームがパントフォーメーション (3-17-7) でボールが蹴られる前に、LOS上のエンドマン、又はLOSの後ろでLOS上のエンドマンから 1 yd以上外側に配置、又はモーションしている有資格レシーバーに対して行われる、通常パスインターフェアとなる行為。
ARTICLE 4. OTHER PROHIBITED ACTS BY THE OFFENSE.
その他オフェンスに禁じられた行為
Acts that are pass interference include:
パスインターフェアに該当する行為には以下のようなものがある。
(a) Blocking more than one yard beyond the line of scrimmage by an offensive player prior to a pass being thrown. See 8-3-1-Note for exception for an ineligible offensive player; or
パスが投げられる前に、オフェンスがLOSを 1yd以上超えた地点でブロックすること。
無資格レシーバーの例外については、8-3-1-Noteを参照。
(b) Blocking a defender beyond the line while the pass is in the air if the block occurs in the vicinity of the player to whom the pass is thrown. See 8-3-1-Note for exception for ineligible players.
パスが投げられる選手の近くでブロックが発生した場合で、パスが空中にある間にラインを越えてディフェンダーをブロックすること。
APPROVED RULINGS
A.R. 8.61 OFFENSIVE PASS INTERFERENCE—BLOCKING BEYOND THE LINE BEFORE THE PASS IS TOUCHED
Second-and-10 on A30. Tight end A3 blocks the linebacker on the line of scrimmage, breaks contact, and then initiates new contact six yards downfield prior to the pass being thrown to wide receiver A4 at the A45.
Ruling: Second-and-20 on A20. Offensive pass interference. If an offensive player blocks a defensive player more than one yard beyond the line of scrimmage before a pass is touched, it is a foul for offensive pass interference.
A.R. 8.62 OFFENSIVE PASS INTERFERENCE—INELIGIBLE BLOCKING DOWNFIELD
Third-and-4 on A30. A1 throws a shovel pass to A2 who catches it at the A29 and runs to the A40. Prior to the pass, center A5 goes downfield and blocks linebacker B1 at the A33.
Ruling: Third-and-14 on A20. Offensive pass interference. Decline the foul for ineligible downfield.
A.R. 8.63 OFFENSIVE PASS INTERFERENCE—PLAYER INITIATES BLOCK WITHIN ONE YARD
First-and-goal on B7. (a) Tight end, or (b) left tackle, A2 blocks B1 at the line of scrimmage and maintains his block without losing contact and drives B1 downfield to the goal line. The pass is thrown to A3 who cuts behind A2 at the goal line while A2 is still blocking in the end zone. A3 catches the ball for a touchdown.
Rulings:
(a) First-and-goal on B17. Offensive pass interference.
(b) Touchdown Team A, kickoff A35. This is legal, because A2 is an ineligible player who made contact within 1-yard of the line of scrimmage and maintained continuous contact from his initial contact.
A.R. 8.64 OFFENSIVE PASS INTERFERENCE—PUSH OFF
First-and-10 on A30. Wideout A3 extends his arms and pushes B5 (who is covering him) at the A33 to create space. He runs across the field and eventually catches a pass at the A37 on the other side of the field. He runs to the 50 where he is tackled inbounds.
Ruling: First-and-20 on A20. If an offensive player pushes off a defensive player to create space more than one yard beyond the line of scrimmage before attempting to catch a pass, it is offensive pass interference.
A.R. 8.65 DEFENSIVE PASS INTERFERENCE—ARM BAR
First-and-10 on A30. A1 throws a forward pass to A2 at the 50. As both players are looking for the ball, B2 uses his left arm to hold down A2’s left arm so he cannot lift it to catch the pass, which falls incomplete.
Ruling: A’s ball, first-and-10 on 50. Defensive pass interference. It would be offensive pass interference if A2 was holding down B2’s arm to prevent an interception.
A.R. 8.66 DEFENSIVE PASS INTERFERENCE—CUT WITH BALL IN AIR
Second-and-10 on A30. B1 cuts end A2 below the waist at the B40 as A2 is reaching for the ball. The pass falls incomplete.
Ruling: A’s ball, first-and-10 on B40. This is defensive pass interference because the ball is in the air to that receiver, but it is not an illegal cut, because the ball is in the air.
A.R. 8.67 DEFENSIVE PASS INTERFERENCE—ALSO PERSONAL FOUL
Third-and-2 on A20. A1 throws a forward pass to end A3 at the A35. Just before the pass arrives and A3 touches the ball,
(a) B1 pulls A3 down by the facemask;
(b) B1 hits A2 in the helmet with his shoulder; or
(c) B1 lowers his helmet and makes forcible contact to A2’s body. The pass falls incomplete.
Ruling: (a), (b), and (c): A’s ball, first-and-10 on 50. Since the pass interference was also a personal foul, both fouls are enforced.
A.R. 8.68 NOT PASS INTERFERENCE—BALL TIPPED—DEFENDER PULLS RECEIVER’S MASK
Third-and-2 on A20. A1 throws a forward pass to A3 at the A35. B1 pulls A3 down by the facemask after the ball was tipped by either A2 or B2. The pass falls incomplete.
Ruling: A’s ball, first-and-10 on A35. This is not defensive pass interference, as the ball was tipped, but the facemask foul is enforced from the previous spot.
A.R. 8.69 DEFENSIVE PASS INTERFERENCE—BALL SNAPPED INSIDE TEAM B TWO-YARD LINE
First-and-goal on B1½. Quarterback A1 throws a pass to A3 who is three yards deep in B’s end zone. B1 commits pass interference in the end zone.
Ruling: First-and-goal on B¾. Half the distance. When the ball is snapped from inside the B 2-yard line, if there is defensive pass interference in the end zone, the penalty is enforced half the distance to the goal.
A.R. 8.70 NOT PASS INTERFERENCE—BOTH PLAYING BALL—TANGLED FEET
First-and-10 on A30. A1 throws a forward pass to A2 at the 50. Both A2 and B2 are looking back at the ball when their feet become entangled causing one or both to fall down. The pass is incomplete.
Ruling: Second-and-10 on A30. Since both players were playing the ball, there is no foul for pass interference. If one is playing the ball and the other is not, it is pass interference on the player who is not playing the ball.
A.R. 8.71 NOT PASS INTERFERENCE—NEITHER PLAYING BALL—TANGLED FEET
First-and-10 on A30. A1 throws a forward pass to A2 at the 50. Neither A2 or B2 are looking at the ball when their feet tangle. The pass is catchable.
Ruling: Second-and-10 on A30. This is not a foul, as neither player is looking for, nor playing the ball. (8-5-3-b)
A.R. 8.72 NOT PASS INTERFERENCE—BOTH PLAYING BALL
First-and-10 on A30. A1 throws a forward pass to end A2 at the 50. Both A2 and B2 are looking back at the ball when they collide. They both had an equal opportunity to get to the ball. The pass falls incomplete.
Ruling: Second-and-10 on A30. This is not a foul, as both players were playing the ball.
A.R. 8.73 NOT PASS INTERFERENCE—NO TWIST OR TURN
First-and-10 on A30. A1 throws a forward pass to A2 at the 50. As A2 reaches for the ball, B2 puts his right hand on or around A2’s back but does not twist or turn him. The pass falls incomplete.
Ruling: Second-and-10 on A30. This is not a foul. Putting a hand on or around A2’s back is only a foul if A2 is pulled, twisted, or knocked off balance by B2 prior to either player touching the ball.
A.R. 8.74 NOT PASS INTERFERENCE—PASS UNCATCHABLE
Third-and-4 on 50. Eligible receiver A2 runs to the B40, and with the ball in the air, pushes off B2, before breaking to the sideline. The pass sails 10 yards over A2’s head and lands in the stands.
Ruling: Fourth-and-4 on 50. No penalty for pass interference, as the pass is uncatchable by the involved player. When determining whether a pass is catchable, the trajectory is taken into consideration. At the sideline, a pass must land outside the white to be considered uncatchable. If the pass is thrown with a low trajectory, it could still be catchable even if it lands outside the white.
A.R. 8.75 NOT PASS INTERFERENCE—WIDEST MAN IN PUNT FORMATION
Fourth-and-10 on 50. Team A lines up in a punt formation, but instead of punting, A1 takes the snap and throws a pass to flyer A2 (the widest man in the formation on the left side). B1 chucks A2 at the B40 before the pass, and again at the B25 while the pass was in the air. The contact by B1 prevents A2 from catching the pass, which falls incomplete.
Ruling: B’s ball, first-and-10 on 50. There is no foul for illegal contact or defensive pass interference on the widest man, when Team A presents an apparent punt formation.
A.R. 8.76 PASS INTERFERENCE—PUNT FORMATION—PUNT BLOCKED
Fourth-and-10 on 50. Team A lines up in a punt formation with A3 lined up as a flyer, (the widest man in the formation on the left side). A1’s punt is blocked at the A40 and the ball bounces into A1’s hands. A1 then immediately passes the ball to A3 at the B30. Just before the catchable pass reaches A3 at the B30, B1 pushes A3 out of the way and B1 intercepts the pass and is downed at the B40.
Ruling: A’s ball, first-and-10 on B30. Defensive pass interference rules are back in effect after the ball is punted, even for the player who was originally the widest man in the formation.
A.R. 8.77 NOT PASS INTERFERENCE—PUNT FORMATION—BALL NEVER KICKED
Fourth-and-10 on 50. Team A is in punt formation with A3 as a flyer, (the widest man in the formation on the left side). A1 muffs the snap and scrambles toward the sideline. Just before A1 gets to the sideline, he passes the ball to A3 at the B30. Before the catchable pass reaches A3 at the B30, B1 pushes A3 out of the way and B1 intercepts the pass and is downed at the B40.
Ruling: B’s ball, first-and-10 on B40. The exception to defensive pass interference rules, when Team A snaps the ball in an apparent punt formation, remains in effect until the ball is punted.
A.R. 8.78 HOLDING—PUNT FORMATION
Fourth-and-10 on 50. Team A lines up in a punt formation, but instead of punting, A1 takes the snap and throws a pass to flyer A2, (the widest man in the formation on the left side): (a) B1 holds A2 at the B40 before the pass; or (b)B1 holds A2 with the ball in the air clearly preventing his ability to catch the pass. A1’s subsequent pass to A2 falls incomplete.
Ruling: (a) and (b) A’s ball, first-and-10 on B45. Although there can be no defensive pass interference on the two widest players in punt formation, defensive holding is a foul despite the formation. (8-5-3-Note 3, 12-1-6)
A.R. 8.79 NOT PASS INTERFERENCE—FACE GUARDING
Fourth-and-4 on B40. A1 drops back to the B48 while looking for an open receiver. He throws a pass to A2 who has gotten behind B1 at the B20. B1 turns his back to the passer, and at the B21, waves both his hands in A2’s face. Because B1’s hands are in front of A2’s face, A2 loses sight of the ball and it falls incomplete.
Ruling: B’s ball, first-and-10 on B40. Not pass interference. There must be contact to have pass interference.
B陣40yd地点、 第4ダウン残り4yd。A1はレシーバーを探しながらB陣48yd地点までドロップバックした。B陣20yd地点でB1の背後に回ったA2にパスを投げた。B陣21yd地点でB1はパサーに背を向け、A2の顔に向けて両手を振った。B1の手がA2の顔の前だった為、A2はボールを見失い、キャッチ出来なかった。
判定:B陣40ydでBチームの第1ダウン10yd。パスインターフェアではない。接触はパスインターフェアの成立要件である。
A.R. 8.80 NOT PASS INTERFERENCE—CONTACT AFTER TIPPED PASS
Second-and-10 on A35. A1 throws a forward pass which is tipped by defensive tackle B5 at the line of scrimmage. After the pass is tipped, receiver A2 is interfered with at the 50 and the pass falls incomplete.
Ruling: Third-and-10 on A35. No foul. Pass interference restrictions end when a pass is touched. If the interference occurred before the pass was touched, it would be a foul. (8-5-1)